Six LDS Writers and A Frog

Wednesday, June 20, 2007

Whitney Awards to include YA/Children's Lit

After strong public support over the last few days, two rules changes were ratified this morning:

1) The award "Science Fiction/Fantasy" will be changed to "Speculative Fiction".
2) The new genre category "YA/Children's Literature" has been added. (As YA/Children's Lit is a genre category, a novel cannot win for both YA/Children's Lit and Speculative Fiction.)

Again, this isn't a perfect solution--putting Fablehaven and A Teddy Bear, a Blankie, and a Prayer into the same category is obviously awkward--but at least it allows those books a place.

And after I wrote yesterday I fixed the nomination form, so hurry over and submit!


At 6/22/2007 10:28 AM, Blogger Anne Bradshaw said...

Way to go! So glad YA is now included. Thank you, all you wonderful Whitney Award people.

Some of the best books I've ever read have been for this age group. I'll be reading them for as long as I can see to read.


Post a Comment

<< Home